Amazingly, now, the sound is much more normal than it was in the first 2 weeks. Less robot, more normal but echoey.

Some cool (and not so cool) things that I have noticed in the 3 weeks since being switched on:

  • I can walk home from work with both the hearing aid and cochlear implant switched on. Traffic noise doesn’t bother me as much anymore. Before the implant, I always walked home with both my hearing aids switched off, because the traffic noise gave me headaches, even when I turned the sound right down.
  • I don’t get headaches as much as I used to – I am not sure why – I suspect it’s because the hearing aids were just amplifying the noise, and so my eardrum was constantly being bombarded with incredibly loud noise, 12 hours a day, or however long I had them switched on. Now, because the implant seems to by-pass everything, I just don’t get those headaches anymore. This also means I am less tired.
  • I still don’t really like the feeling of the implant under the skin on my head. Sometimes I can still feel the electrodes in my cochlear – I know a lot of people would say, there is no way you can feel them in there – but if I have had a stressful day, and my head felt a bit thick, like I had flu coming on or something – and I could feel the implant moving
  • Probably the most annoying thing about the cochlear implant is the size of the processor and the coil attachment. It always gets in the way – I didn’t realise how much I played with my own hair until I got it! I will probably have to get a different hair cut, because it’s too difficult to get my hair behind my ears – and the cord won’t let that happen anyway. So that’s a bit annoying. But hey – I would put up with a lot more than this to be able to hear as well as I am hearing now.
  • I am still saying “What?” a lot – but sometimes out of habit! Like, I will hear something, but it’s just become such a normal thing for me, or, I can’t really believe that I have heard something, it’s like a reflex action. It means I am having to rethink my reactions to things.
  • People seem to be more open to me since the implant – possibly because of the media coverage, possibly because of the blog – but people seem to feel like they know me better, and so have been telling me secrets or things about themselves that have not told me before, and also things that they haven’t told anyone. And often these are things that have been painful in their lives. I really feel for people when they tell me these things. It’s a weird situation, but one I am very happy about.
