I think this is amazing.

I got an email from the mum of one of the students that I mentor – Dan’s mum, Clare – and I really wanted to quote what she said, it made me feel so proud:

Dan has some big news which we are so very proud of. Today he was chosen as a School Prefect for Year 12! I’m sure the mentoring experience helped to give him the confidence to apply for a leadership position but I am gobsmacked that he was one of the few chosen out of so many hearing students… It’s just such an amazing achievement.

Now, I have just received the Hear For You email update & discovered that Dan’s not the only one… Adrian also has become a Prefect.

How wonderful is that! Congratulations & thank you so much for encouraging our kids to believe in themselves.

You might remember another blog post I made a few weeks ago (in fact – the day after my surgery!) about Adrian becoming a prefect!?

Well, it just blows me away that two of the kids in my group have become prefects – that is, student leaders at their schools – it’s really an achievement on their behalf.

Well done guys!

And to celebrate, I am going to post some pictures of us during the mentoring program workshop a few months ago.

Adrian and Bella, listening attentively (I hope!) in our Year 11 and 12s workshop. Well if they were bored, they didn't show it. HAHA

Adrian and Bella, listening attentively (I hope!) in our Year 11 and 12s workshop. Well if they were bored, they didn't show it. HAHA

If you would like to know more about the mentoring program, visit the Hear For You website. We are all volunteers, and it’s a non-profit organisation, so we really do it out of pure passion!

Dan Harris during one of our workshops. Congratulations on becoming prefect Dan!

Dan Harris during one of our workshops. Congratulations on becoming prefect Dan!

Thanks to The Cochlear Foundation which has already given us much needed support to keep the program up and running.

We realise the need to continue raising money will be ongoing, so if you have a fundraising idea that could help us keep the program running – please contact Olivia Andersen at info@hearforyou.com.au.

On another note, (and something we should contemplate doing to raise funds!) if you wanted to support someone doing something good for kids with a hearing loss, a mum of a boy with a cochlear implant is doing a Fun Run for The Shepherd Centre. You can donate to help Fiona raise money for this very important not-for-profit organisation which teaches hearing impaired children to talk.

http://www.everydayhero.com.au/donation_here

Dan, Adrian and Bella all working hard - geez, we're task masters aren't we! Dave and I usually work them to the ground in every workshop. Obviously we are doing something right. Just kidding!

Dan, Adrian and Bella all working hard - geez, we're task masters aren't we! Dave and I usually work them to the ground in every workshop. (Just kidding! Obviously we are doing something right, eh?)

That’s all from me – over and out.

Oh, wait, I should probably tell you that I went for my second mapping session this morning. It went really well. I did a ‘spur-of-the-moment’ sentence recognition test with Rachel – and … I got 100 per cent!

Wow.

I will be doing the full and totally official test in two weeks, so then we will really see if I am doing as well as it appears.

But for now, I am pretty happy!

