Have you ever wondered how deaf people listen to music or watch movies or TV?

To understand what they are hearing, they usually need captions.

I used to be able to hear normally… and one of the things I really miss is being able to hear the lyrics to music.

I can hear some music quite well with my one remaining ear – jazz, alt rock, folk. Other music of course sounds horrific (mainly violins/classical, and heavy metal).

Unfortunately, daggy pop-music sounds quite good to my ear – which means Britney Spears, Katy Perry, that Swedish band that sang ‘Barbie Girl’…

However, as a deaf person, I can’t hear lyrics, so, unless I ask someone, I have no idea what they are singing about.

I have a very clear memory of when I was about 17, driving to Newcastle with my mum. She always let me play the music I liked (what a mum!!!), and there was this song I loved called “Remember me” by Blue Boy. I used to sing along with it, because I thought that the words were “meh meh mehmeh- mehmehmeh meh meh meh”

I finally asked mum whether they were actually saying anything, and I remember her saying “Well, let me see…” and she rewound the tape, and went through the entire song, listening, and sang me all the words, so I could lip-read them.

Thinking back – what a wonderful wonderful thing my mum did for me. All the more so because the words are SO STUPID AND ATROCIOUS!

See lyrics below!!!

Remember Me, by Blue Boy, 1997
Chorus:
Remember me, I’m the one who had your babies.

***YES, WHAT YOU ARE READING IS CORRECT: This is the only line in this song!!! It is repeated several times.

I actually preferred the song my way, with all it’s “meh meh meh”s

If you are interested, check out the video clip. This is still one of my all time favourite songs. I wonder if it’s because I can hear the beat so well. I can hear the singer’s voice still, but like I said, it just sounds muffled.

Check it out:

This is a YouTube music video of one of my favourite songs - "Remember Me" by Blue Boy - I never realised how stupid the lyrics were, until I got my mum to sing them to me. Click here to open YouTube and watch it. You will need sound.

This is a YouTube music video of one of my favourite songs - "Remember Me" by Blue Boy - I never realised how stupid the lyrics were, until I got my mum to sing them to me. Click here to open YouTube and watch it. You will need sound.

Now, one other thing you might find interesting – there is a blog out there by a guy in America that is dedicated to captioning all videos online to deaf people like me.

For the first time ever I was able to watch a Britney Spears video with captioning, so I could understand the lyrics. I mean, most of the time I can lip-read Britney. And boy. Does she pronounce her “L’s”!! She sings like she is licking something… Which kind of captures what the whole Britney brand is all about.

But anyway, after watching these captions, I have lost all respect for Britney’s songs. Now I understand why people hate her. She just sounds really stupid!

But hey. Her tunes are good. Pity she doesn’t make up the tunes. HAHA

Check out Britney’s captioned video below!

Hilarious captioned version of "Oops. I did it again" by Britney Spears. Every music video should be captioned, because then maybe stupid lyrics would never be released!

Hilarious captioned version of "Oops. I did it again" by Britney Spears. Every music video should be captioned, because then maybe stupid lyrics would never be released!

I salute Bill Creswell, hero to deaf people, bane of brainless musicians, for Captioning the internet, one video at a time.

