I decided to post some more photos of Ben and me pre and post surgery.

Getting ready for me to go into surgery. A bit nerve-wracking.

Getting ready for me to go into surgery. A bit nerve-wracking.

My actual sugery apparently only took 1 hour, though I was ‘inside’ for four hours. I don’t remember waiting around that long.

If you look closely, you can see the sticky post it note that accompanied my file: "Patient is deaf". I still find it weird to be described like that.

If you look closely, you can see the sticky post it note that accompanied my file: "Patient is deaf". I still find it weird to be described like that.

And here is Ben’s last view of me as I am taken in. I was definitely feeling scared as they wheeled me out, but tried to think positive thoughts – e.g: “Anaesthetist promised I wouldn’t die!” Stuff like that.

Being wheeled out of the pre-op ward, and into surgery

Being wheeled out of the pre-op ward, and into surgery

After I got out, and had recovered (to read more about the surgery, click here) – the next morning, Dr Da Cruz came and told me it was time to take off the bandage. I was like “What the …? Now? Don’t I keep it on for like a week or something?” He explained that I didn’t need the bandage, I could keep it off, and just have the gauze covering the wound. So, you can see I am mildly freaking out as he takes it off below:

The bandage comes off in the morning, and I don't really feel comfortable without it!

The bandage comes off in the morning, and I don't really feel comfortable without it!

So, what did I do? When I got home, I asked Ben to wrap another bandage around my head! HAHA!

At home after I made Ben bandage me back up. Thanks Ben

At home after I made Ben bandage me back up. Thanks Ben

I just couldn’t bring myself to lie down on our couch at home, and let my ear/head touch the pillow. I kept imagining germs and bacteria getting in there. Gah! Yuk!

I mean, deep down, I knew that he was right, the wound was sealed enough with the gauze, but I decided to placate the worry-wart in me, and give myself a bandage for the day – just to make myself feel better.

So, I haven’t been able to wash my hair, and I haven’t been sleeping on my head on that side – but it doesn’t really hurt. It”s more that fear you have of hurting yourself!

And then flowers arrived from my girlfriends – thanks guys!

First day back at home, and the door bell rang, and I got a delivery of flowers from my girlfriends.

First day back at home, and the door bell rang, and I got a delivery of flowers from my girlfriends.

So, it’s day 5 after the surgery, and I’ve been up since 4am this morning, as I couldn’t sleep. My neck is hurting a bit, and I can really feel the computer chip thing sitting on my skull now – that is kind of freaky. I didn’t think I’d be so aware of it. Well actually, that’s not entirely true – I can feel it, but I can’t actually tell where it’s sitting.

Ben keeps telling me we should test it by dangling some metal over my head, and seeing if it sticks to my head.

Not funny.

I told him no way, I don’t even want to touch it until I see Dr Da Cruz in a week.

But still he keeps jangling his keys suggestively at my head in the hope that I’ll give it a go, see if the keys stick to my head. Am not quite ready to ‘test’ my magnet yet, and am not even sure it would work – wouldn’t you need another magnet to make it stick? I have no idea, and am not going to experiment!

I may be Robo-Kate, but I am still a scaredy cat.

17 days to go until the switch-on.

