Am feeling pretty good. A bit tired. My head doesn’t hurt at all, this is the most bizarre thing. I just have this feeling of something being in my ear. I can’t even tell where the implant magnet part is sitting on my skull, because I have been too scared to touch it.

Ben has made me soup, brought me books and magazines. *sigh* Could get used to this.

Ben has made me soup, brought me books and magazines. *sigh* Could get used to this.

Ben has been looking after me. He’s taken two days off work, and has been making me cups of tea, dinner, and bringing me newspapers, making me soup, and he’s currently making me a real hot chocolate. I think I am the luckiest girl in the world.

I am just going to take it slowly over the next few days. I felt so hyper after coming out of the surgery, because I just couldn’t believe how painless it was. But then I started to ache a bit, so took the paracetemol … and now I am feeling really foggy.

And talking feels a bit uncomfortable – like the vibrations of my voice are moving the implant.

Can’t tell you how happy I am to be holed up at home right now.

I’m reading lots of blogs online – there are some amazingly interesting ones out there – and reading the newspaper, and replying to emails. Unfortunately our laptop connection broke, so it meant that I had to sit at the computer to read, and I started to feel a bit funny sitting up.

So Ben has set up the desktop computer in a bizarre balancing act, and I am lying down with the keyboard on my lap, mouse balancing on a book, and looking up at the screen. But I am comfy. My work colleagues would be proud – it is desk contortion-ism at its best. I am always being pulled up for my terrible OHS set up with my desk at work. I find it so comfortable to slump, that I have made my desk at work particularly slump-worthy – with the screen up as high as it can go, so I can just melt into my chair, looking up at my screen like at the cinema when you are way down the front.

Anyway – check out the before and after pics of my head – the red stuff is not blood, just the anti-bacterial orange solution stuff they paint on before the surgery. One of the worst things is I can’t wash my hair until after next Wednesday, and it’s already really stiff with all the stuff they’d painted my head with … yukky. But it’s all totally worth it.

My head, before and after cochlear implant surgery. Not too messy if I do say so myself.

My head, before and after cochlear implant surgery. Not too messy if I do say so myself.

Now it’s only 19 days until I get the implant switched on.

The next count down begins. Phase one out of the way. Bring on Phase Two!

